November 2016

Engineering Project of the Year Award

Corrib onshore gas pipeline wins best engineering project of the year

The Corrib Onshore Gas Pipeline has been voted Engineering Project of the Year, it has been announced.

The Corrib Gas Field, approximately 83km off the coast of Mayo, has become a critical piece of national infrastructure that will produce much of Ireland’s future gas supplies over the next 15 to 20 years.  It is one of the largest infrastructure projects in the state’s history, costing approximately €3.5 billion and will contribute some €6 billion to Ireland’s GDP.

The project was undertaken by Shell E&P (Ireland) Ltd, RPS Group Ltd, Roadbridge Ltd, BAM and W&F JV and won out in the flagship category of the seventh annual Engineers Ireland Excellence Awards, held in association with ESB, at a ceremony in the InterContinental Hotel in Dublin.

Speaking about the complex nature of the project, PJ Rudden, RPS director and a Chartered Engineer, said: “The Corrib Onshore Gas Pipeline was an extremely challenging project from the outset requiring the management of a diverse range of specialist expertise to produce major deliverables within extremely demanding timelines.  These related to alternative pipeline corridors, alternative community engagement and involvement, environmental impact assessments, logistics management and construction issues.

EI Group
Engineering Project of the Year, sponsored by Transport Infrastructure Ireland, has been awarded to The Corrib Project – Onshore Gas Pipeline. Pictured from l to r: PJ Rudden (RPS) Jim Mulcair (Roadbridge), Michael Nolan (Transport Infrastructure Ireland), Ronan Deasy (Shell), Ciaran Butler (RPS), Pat McAndrew (BAM) and Caroline Spillane.

“Ultimately, the Corrib initiative was a huge infrastructural undertaking that involved cutting-edge engineering expertise, from planning through to construction and operation, that has been delivered to the highest standards and within very tight time lines.  On behalf of my project colleagues, let me just say it is extremely pleasing to have our efforts recognized by Engineers Ireland judges and the public vote,” Rudden added.

The Engineering Project of the Year is voted for by a panel of judges and also by the public.

Speaking at the awards ceremony in the InterContinental Hotel Dublin, Caroline Spillane, Engineers Ireland Director General, commented on the vast array of engineering talent that had gathered for the flagship awards ceremony.

“The engineering profession is the real winner of this year’s awards. We in Engineers Ireland are delighted to showcase and celebrate the incredible achievements of some of the best engineering talent in the world.  The projects and individuals who have been honoured highlight the true creative talent and innovation within the profession.”

She continued: “Engineers continue to make an incredibly valuable contribution to communities and economies worldwide. The work celebrated here embodies real engineering excellence and ingenuity and reflects the evolving nature of contemporary engineering today.”

Full list of winners:

Engineering Project of the Year Award, sponsored by Transport Infrastructure Ireland

  • The Corrib Project – Onshore Gas Pipeline by Shell E&P (Ireland) Ltd/ RPS Group Ltd/ Roadbridge Ltd/ BAM / W&F JV

Chartered Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Arup

  • Innovative Track Design for Urban Railways – the State of the Art on Luas by Marcello Corsi

Geoscience Ireland Award, sponsored by Geoscience Ireland

  • Irish Rail Cutting & Embankment Decision Support Tool by Gavin & Doherty Geosolutions Ltd & Irish Rail Iarnród Éireann

Best Presentation Award, sponsored by Beale & Company and Griffiths & Armour

  • Design and Construction of the Rosie Hackett Bridge – by Tony Dempsey (Roughan O’Donovan), Philip Brown (GRAHAM) and Joe Kelly (Roughan O’Donovan)

Local Authority Engineering Initiative Award, sponsored by Cold Chon (Galway) Ltd

  • Returning Vacant Properties to Productive Use – 2014 to 2016 by Cork City Council
  • The City Quays, Limerick by Limerick City and County Council/ Nicholas de Jong & Associates/ O’Shea Consulting/ Lawlor Burns & Associates 

Technical Innovation of the Year Award, sponsored by NSAI

  • Network Innovation Competition (NIC) Robotics Project by RPS Group Ltd/ Scotia Gas Networks (SGN)/ ULC Robotics

Heritage and Conservation Award, sponsored by the Office of Public Works

  • Culfadda Bridge Conservation Repairs by Sligo County Council

Outstanding Contribution to Engineering Award, sponsored by ESB

  • Michael Phillips, FIEI, FIAE, FICE

International Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by ESB International

  • Anthony O’Neill

President’s Award, sponsored by CRH

  • William Egenton, Managing Director, Dromone Engineering

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Employer of the Year Award, supported by the Department of Education and Skills and sponsored by Enterprise Ireland and IDA Ireland

  • PM Group

Innovative Student Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by Siemens

  • ‘Automatically fed post driver’, by Colm Morley, Shane Timoney, Caolan Treanor and Conor Walsh of Sligo IT